KMHA History

KMHA History
KMHA History 2024-05-01T12:38:22+00:00

The Kanata Minor Hockey Association was established in 1979, the year following the incorporation of the City of Kanata  when the Mayor, Marianne Wilkinson directed the two existing Minor Hockey Associations, Glen Cairn MHA (President, John Elkin) and March Townships MHA (President, Ken McLean) to merge. John Elkin was elected as KMHA’s first President.

Season KMHA President Chair District 11 # of Members
1979-80 John Elkin
1980-81 John Elkin
1981-82 John Elkin
1982-83 Bob Henry
1983-84 Ken Corbett
1984-85 Ken Corbett
1985-86 Ken Corbett
1986-87 Ken Corbett
1988-89 Roy Meikle
1989-90 Roy Meikle
1990-91 Roy Meikle
1991-92 Ron Davidson
1992-93 Ron Davidson
1993-94 Dave Leafloor
1994-95 Dave Leafloor

At the 1995 ODMHA AGM, Melan Sapp, President KMHA tabled a motion that was seconded by Chuck Riordan, Chair District 4 establishing Kanata as a full status District. The motion passed and Kanata became District 11 of the ODMHA. Melan Sapp was the first District Chair.

Season KMHA President Chair District 11
1995-96 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
1996-97 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
1997-98 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
1998-99 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
1999-2000 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
2000-2001 Melan Sapp Melan Sapp
2001-2002 Dave Palmer Melan Sapp
2002-2003 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2003-2004 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2004-2005 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2005-2006 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2006-2007 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2007-2008 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2008-2009 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2009-2010 Charles Saunders Charles Saunders
2010-2011 Kelli Burke Kelli Burke
2011-2012 Kelli Burke Kelli Burke
2012-2013 Scott Leger Kelli Burke
2013-2014 Scott Leger Kelli Burke
2014-2015 Scott Leger Kelli Burke
2015-2016 Scott Leger David Farnes * New Bylaw Passed*
2016-2017 Scott Leger David Farnes
2017-2018 Andy McAfee Kelli Burke
2018/2019 Andy McAfee Shelley Zimmerman
2018/2019 Ralph Petersen Shelley Zimmerman
 2019/2020 Ralph Petersen  Shelley Zimmerman
 2020/2021 Ralph Petersen  Shelley Zimmerman
2021/22 Ralph Peterson Acting- Ralph Petersen President resigns due to “Conflict of interest policy “
2021/22 Erin Murphy Ralph Petersen New President voted in February 23, 2022

President Murphy appoints Ralph Petersen District Chair

2022/23 Erin Murphy Ralph Petersen
2023/24 Erin Murphy Ralph Petersen
2024/25 Erin Murphy